Review: Maybelline Master Conceal Camouflaging Concealer!

Hello Everybody. Happy Monday. Yes it’s still Winter, and still cold. Le Sigh.

So, on a positive note, let’s talk about concealers. There is nothing better than a product that can make you feel more confident about yourself instantly. For me, concealer is one of these things. I have been testing the new Maybelline Master Conceal (Shade Light) and here are my thoughts!

2015/01/img_5376.jpg

The texture of this concealer is quite fluid, and I am happy with the blendability. The shade “Light” definitely has a yellow undertone, and I have read on other blogs that the shade “Fair” has quite a pink undertone, so choose accordingly.

2015/01/img_5377.jpg

I love the packaging of this, I have a soft spot for squeeze tubes. You can really control how much product you use, and it’s much more hygienic than a doe foot applicator. You get 12ml of product for $12.99 CAD.

When I first applied this, my first impression was “That was fine…” And to be honest, as I continued to use this, my opinion stayed the same. The color works for me, it blends like a dream, the coverage I would say is medium, but can be built up, and I really didn’t experience any creasing throughout the day. Word of caution: this concealer dries super fast. I mean, super fast. And if you’ve waited too long to blend, the product will roll off of your skin. If you are someone who places your concealer all over your face and then blends everything, you will have to rethink your application. This is a one eye at a time, one blemish at a time kinda deal. It seemed to have checked all of my requirements, but for some reason it just isn’t wowing me. I will say this though, I would recommend this to someone looking for a drugstore concealer. I think I have concluded that the reason it hasn’t absolutely knocked my socks off, is because it doesn’t have any brightening properties. I prefer the Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer in the “Brightening” shade.

All in all, this is a very solid concealer. I give it bonus points for packaging, as it is much more hygienic than the applicators of L’oreal True Match or Maybelline Fit Me. In a perfect world for me, they would launch another shade that resembles the brightening shade from the Age Rewind line. Now that I think about it, maybe I would prefer the “Fair” shade.

Do you guys ever just feel lukewarm about a product? I didn’t not like it, but it’s by no means a Holy Grail product.

What did you think of this concealer?

-Sara

2 comments

Leave a Reply

