Fancy vs Frugal: Brow Showdown! Round Two!

Fibre-Gel brow products are all the rage right now. Actually, fibre everything seems to be the rage. Fibre brows, fibre lashes, fibre hairsprays to fix your uneven hairline or to camouflage sparse areas on your scalp. The world is truly mastering the ability to fake it. Unlike fibre lashes, these brow products can look very natural and be super flattering. (I don’t care how many people try to get me to endorse or sell these fibre mascaras – I’ll tell you straight up, your lashes look like fuzzy spider legs!) Last Friday, I talked about Maybelline Brow Drama and Benefit Gimme Brow. Maybelline really missed the mark with that product. No fibres, it’s simply a tinted gel with an obnoxious ball on the end that makes it near impossible to use. Benefit remained queen of the brow.

I have since tried two more of these kind of brow products, and have had much more luck!

Hard Candy Brows Now! was the first product to really spark my interest. This is a gel-fibre formula, and definitely has more fibres in it than the Gimme Brow.

2015/01/img_5227.jpg

With a very similar brush to the Gimme Brow, but a slightly more wet formula, the Hard Candy combs through the brows super easily, and lasts all day. The wand is small enough to work even on the tail of the brow, and this provides both color and volume to your eyebrows. I have it in the medium/deep shade, and I do find it a little dark. I might take it back and try the lighter shade instead… On the flip side, a brow highlight, that contains a little too much shimmer for me, but I love to use it on the inner corners of my eyes and on my Cupid’s bow. The only complaint I have with this product, is because there are so many fibres in the formula, the wand can get messy, and you can end up with wonky looking brows. A clean spooly is definitely needed to comb through at the end of application. I got this at Wal Mart for $5.98 CAD, and I could purchase four of these for the same price as one Benefit’s Gimme Brow. Benefit Gimme Brow comes in a 3.0ml tube, and the Hard Candy is 4.1ml.

Just when I thought I was finished with this brow search, L’oreal launched their newest brow product that promises more volumized brows. L’oreal Brow Stylist Plumper comes in three shades. Transparent, Light/Medium, and Medium/Deep. I have the Medium/Deep shade, and again it is just a hair too dark for me. I can make it work though, and I don’t hold it against the product.

2015/01/img_5315.jpg

Benefit Gimme Brow on the left, and L’oreal Brow Stylist Plumper on the right.

2015/01/img_5316.jpg

This formula is awesome. I wanted to make a before/after picture but since the product is a little too dark for me, I asked Almira to try it so you guys can see what it can do. Her left brow has nothing, and her right brow has only the L’oreal on it!

2015/01/img_5314.jpg

Isn’t she gorgeous? Anyway, as you can see, this product makes a big impact. And I can tell you, out of every one of these brow products, this one is my favorite. The formula is more wet than Benefit Gimme Brow, and the fibres are much smaller, resulting in a more natural look. I also find this really holds your brows in place, so if you have unruly brows, I would definitely try this. The wand is small enough to work with ease through the brows, and the product lasts all day on me. Also, the sheer size of this is way bigger. 8.0ml in the L’oreal, versus the 3.0ml of the Gimme Brow.

So, I haven’t chosen the cheapest, or the most expensive. L’oreal retails for $14.49 CAD, which is in the middle of the other products. Since this is a more wet formula, I feel like it will last longer than the Gimme Brow and the Hard Candy, as they tend to dry out quicker. I also feel like since the formula is wet and the fibres are smaller, this provides a more precise application.

Phew – that was a long post. I am dying to know, which one of these brow products do you love the most? Now I am stuck with so many brow products, but I just had to try them all and see what one worked the best for me. Thumbs up for L’oreal for me!

-Sara

2 comments

  1. Oh my god they have the Loreal one in Canada now?! Where did you get it? I’ve been looking everywhere for it but I can’t find it 😦

Leave a Reply

