Product Fails: Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick!

There were a lot of disappointments in 2014 beauty (for me). The Narsissist Palette, the YSL shimmer glosses, the Bite Beauty Agave Lip Mask … I could go on and on. But one that really disappointed me, was a product by Stila that I really wanted to work for me. I have this in full size, and before I even used it, I was turned off of the product simply because how much of it comes out on the applicator. With such a high pigment product, you really need a precise applicator. An overly saturated doe foot, is just not going to cut it.

Then when I was shopping through my collection, I came across a mini version of the same product! Stila Stay all Day Liquid Lipstick in Beso. I opened it up, and the product seemed like it would be easier to use because obviously the applicator was much smaller, and less messy than the full size.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90b/62657476/files/2015/01/img_5040.jpg
So, while getting ready for a Christmas party, I put this on. It went on smooth, it is so full color and really looked beautiful. I did only a thin layer, as that was all I needed to get the look that I wanted (which was an intense, bold red lip). I felt the product was super drying, but I didn’t want to put a balm or a gloss on top, because I really like to test products as they are. What good is a $30.00 lipstick if you need to top it with a second product?

On the drive to the party, I was complaining to Sabah that my lips were so dry, but by the time we got there, they seemed okay. I started drinking our holiday drinks when we arrived, and was surprised at the super offensive red ring this lip product left on my glass. (I have a thing about lipstick marks on glasses … It drives me insane!)

Finally, the last straw for me was after several awkward stares from people at the party, I ran into Sabah, who promptly told me to go to the bathroom, pull my shit together, and get the lipstick that was all over my face off.

I ran upstairs, and was horrified to realize that the lipstick was everywhere. Under my nose, on my chin, on my cheeks. How could you do this to me Stila!? I know I don’t have a ton of favorites from your line, but I’ve been talking non stop about your Spring 2015 collection. I thought we were friends? None the less, some Bioderma, and Shiseido cotton, took this right off. It had no staining effect, and hardly any lasting power. For something that dried down to a matte finish upon application, I was shocked how much this moved outside my lip line (and apparently all over my face!)

Definitely makes it to the 2014 Wall of Shame for me.

Do you guys have any embarrassing cosmetic stories? Lipstick on teeth, false lash stuck on your face? I hope this stuff doesn’t happen to only me!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

