2014 Favorites! Makeup Edition!

Well, it’s here. The last day of 2014. As with pretty much every year, there have been some big highs, and some big lows. Alas, here we are, we got through it. Keeping on the high note, I am here to let you know some of the best makeup products that I used this year. It was hard to narrow it down this much, but only the best came through!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90b/62657476/files/2014/12/img_5097.jpg

Lancôme Waif Eyeshadow: This shadow is amazing. Super basic, and super useful. I use this alone to conceal veins and redness on mornings that I need to be super quick. It also makes the perfect transition color, or exaggerated crease color. It has a matte finish, and I have completely finished one already. Lancôme just sent me another one along with a few other products, so I am happy to have one back in my collection!

Clarins True Radiance Foundation: This was a newer favorite for this year. This foundation gives great coverage, and a wonderful finish. It makes my dry skin glow, and really seems to neutralize redness. I use the shade 109, and couldn’t be happier with it.

Lise Watier Rouge Fondant Supreme Lipsticks: These lipsticks are so hydrating and creamy. I love that the shade names are all names of Iconic women. (I would love them to make one named after me … Hint Hint Lise Watier, I like fuchsia and pinky nude colors) They wear beautifully, and never leave me with that dreaded ring around my mouth.

Elizabeth Arden Brow Pencil: This brow pencil blew my mind. I finished the whole thing, and continue to use the spooly on the end of this product with other brow products. It blends the product perfectly, but doesn’t remove too much of it. It is by far my favorite brow product I have used this year, and if you use the Anastasia Brow Wiz, you should give this pencil a try. It’s a little cheaper, and I much prefer it.

Lancôme Hypnose Mascara: This has been a favorite of mine for years. This mascara gives me volume, length, with no clumps, and it doesn’t flake on me. I also fell in love with Lancôme Grandiose this year, but after much debate, I’ve decided to stick with the original Hypnose as my must have.

Maybelline Color Elixirs: These lip elixirs give you the most beautiful looking lips. And they make your lips feel like pillows. My favorite color from the line is Caramel Infused. These are not sticky, and they don’t gather near the edges of your lips. (Something my boss likes to call grossness) They wear so nicely, and everytime I wear these, people ask me what I am wearing.

Essence Silky Touch Blushes: I am just as shocked as you that these blushes made favorite status. I have purchased so many blushes in 2014, and I continue to reach for my Essence. These are so inexpensive, but the pigment is amazing, and they last all day on my skin. My favorite one right now is shade 40, which is now discontinued, so the anxiety about hitting pan on that is starting to creep up. These blushes made me put my hourglass blush palette away. And my Dior Glow. That is a serious accomplishment …

Benefit Porefessional: I used so much of this product this year. This product is awesome at blurring out fine lines and pores. Near the end of 2014, Smashbox launched a pore minimizing primer that I love as well, but I have to give the favorite status to Benefit. I introduced this to my mother this year, and she is now obsessed with it too. My favorite way to use this product is on days that I don’t want to wear any other face makeup. It evens out my skin texture and I swear it calms down my redness too.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90b/62657476/files/2014/12/img_5109.jpg

Dior Creme De Rose Lip Balm: First things first. Is this getting discontinued or not!? I think this is one of the worst products that “cries wolf.” It seems like people are always losing their mind that this is discontinued, but I continue to find it. And stores tell me it’s still a core product and not phased out. Either way – this lip balm is amazing. I love the scent of it, and no other lip balm has ever made my lips this soft. I wish they could make it in a stick form, as I hate sticking my finger into a lip balm jar, but this loves on my nightstand, and I’ll continue to repurchase!

Lise Watier Aurora Highlighting Powder: This is a limited edition product from the Winter 2014 collection, and let me tell you, if you get your hands on this, you are a lucky son of a gun. This is an absolute favorite for me, but if you can’t get your hands on it, opt for the Highlight 101 from Laura Mercier.

Well, that concludes the favorites of 2014. Now it’s time to get a pretty dress on, pour some champagne, and ring in the new year with those you love.

Here’s to an amazing 2015, with lots of new launches, and minimal discontinued products!

-Sara

2 comments

  1. Just bought the Arden Brow Pencil in Brownette! Thanks to your post last week and I love it. I still like Anastasia one too but the colour of this one isn’t so ashy and a lot cheaper with shoppers discount!

Leave a Reply

