2014 Favorites! Hair and Body Edition!

I am trying my best to muster up the energy to take down the Christmas Tree. I am starting at it over my laptop right now, and let me tell you, it is my Mount Everest. I have been so exhausted lately, this holiday season in retail has really done a number on me. I feel like I need a vacation somewhere super warm. Not that it’s been overly cold here, Halifax really hasn’t seen snow yet this year and I couldn’t be happier!

Anyway, to help procrastinate with taking the tree down, I thought I’d let you guys know about my 2014 favorites for Hair and Body!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90b/62657476/files/2014/12/img_5099.jpg

L’oreal Elnett Hairspray: The only formula I will use from the line is the unfragranced version, as the other ones smell like vintage people. This hairspray gives such a fine mist, holds my curls, and never ever makes my hair feel brittle or crunchy. You can brush it through, and use as much as you like without having to worry about stiff looking brittle hair. It is amazing, and I don’t even know how many cans I have gone through!

Aveeno Eczema Care Hand Cream: I absolutely loved this product this year. I have serious ezcema on my hands, and if I don’t stay on top of my hand creams and the occasional steroid cream, my hands are a complete mess. This hand cream is under $10.00, and worked so well for me. Even on days that everything burns my hands, this saves me. I also love the Kiehl’s hand salve, but for the price difference, Aveeno takes favorite status.

Cliniderm Nutri Comfort Soothing Body Balm: This was the best body lotion I used all year. My legs can get super dry and itchy, and I need something that is super thick. This delivered everything I needed, but also allowed me to get dressed after applying. I wear black leggings pretty much everyday to work, and some lotions leave me flipping upside down and sideways trying to pull them up over my knees. (Does that ever happen to anybody else!? Sometimes I break a sweat just trying to put my damn pants on!) Unlike thick creams that need hours to sink in, or spray lotions that just don’t deliver enough moisture, this body balm is the perfect mix of nourishing, and convenient!

Fructis De-Constructed Texture Tease: I love this texture spray. It’s inexpensive, smells great, and does the job. It offers a bit of volume, but I really love it when I am wearing a bun or some sort of braids. It gives your hair the perfect amount of texture, without making it feel dirty, or greasy. My only thing that I’m not crazy about, is how it makes my hair tangle. I will continue to hunt for a texture spray, but this one was definitely the best I’ve tried in 2014.

Versace Bright Crystal: This fragrance took the top spot again for 2014. I just love it so much. It’s citrusy, mildly musky, and simply amazing. I get compliments every time I wear this, and the bottle itself is amazing!! (That matters to me!) If you guys haven’t smelled this yet, get your hands on one and give it a smell! It’s so feminine, but doesn’t smell like diabetes. (Seriously, some of the newer fragrances are so sweet, I could choke on them!)

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/90b/62657476/files/2014/12/img_5108.jpg

Kerestase Heat Protectants: I have used the Nectar Thermique, and now have started trying this new (to me) formula for damaged hair. These heat protectants really did change my hair. They smooth frizz, hydrate my ends … They are beautiful. I am still on the hunt for a cheaper cream heat protectant, so if anyone knows about a good one, let me know! Until then, I will continue to use the Kerestase, because my hair loves it!

Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Mask: Sound the harps. This mask changed the game. Of course, I can’t get this in Halifax, so the next person I know that goes to London Drugs will have to stock up for me. This mask performed better than any higher end mask I have ever tried. It made my hair shockingly silky, and I’ve never had anything like this. I think I paid $6.00 USD for two of these last time I was in Florida. I bought one for me and one for Sabah, and we both fell in love.

Those are the standout products for 2014. What are your must have hair products!?

-Sara

Follow us on Instagram and Twitter! @girlmetblush

Leave a Reply

