Fancy vs Frugal Friday: Texture Sprays!

It has been quite a while since my last Fancy vs Frugal Friday,  but I didn’t want to do them unless there was a clear difference between the products. I have been testing these products for a few weeks and I have a clear favorite. The products that I’ve been testing out are Garnier’s Texture Tease, and Living Proof Instant Texture Mist. The Garnier is available in drugstores for $8.99 CAD. However, it goes on sale all the time. I got this can on sale with a coupon and it was only $1.99! The Living Proof product retails for $32.00 for the 5 ounce, and $18.00 for the 1.7 ounce bottle.

image

These products have some similarities, but I really prefer one over the other. First off, the Living Proof is a pump spray, providing a wet spray, and the Garnier is a dry aerosol spray. Thankfully for me, the drugstore product is much more superior. I love using this when I put my hair in a bun or do any sort of braid. It’s also really good when I have curls in my hair and I just want something to provide some “grip” and volume to my hair.

The Living Proof for me, is just too heavy a product. It leaves my hair wet and stringy, and although the look I get from it is nice, it’s not worth the way it makes my hair feel. I also don’t get any volume from this product, and forget trying to put it near my roots, because it makes my hair look greasy. It also doesn’t pass my “crunch test” meaning when I pinch my hair afterwards I hear that dreaded crunch sound. A dry aerosol spray works much better in my hair, and the pump spray nozzle on this did nothing for me.

Something that I like for both products is the smell, however a complaint I have about both of these products, is that they both tangle my hair to the extreme. Especially near the nape of my neck, the tangles are crazy. If anyone has any product recommendations for a texture spray that doesn’t tangle your hair that would be great.

I know Sabah disagrees with me on this one, but she hasn’t yet tried the Garnier. The Living Proof works well for her newly short hair, so I will be passing this on to her! For me, frugal takes the cake this week. The search continues for a texture spray that doesn’t tangle my hair, however for the price I am super happy with this!

What are your favorite hair products?

-Sara

Leave a Reply

