So are the days of our lives … Fragrances that trigger memories!

This is a post I’ve been meaning to write since Halloween. I shouldn’t even call it a post, it’s more of a story that I wanted to talk about, and get some feedback from you guys.

So as some of you may remember, I was Marge Simpson for Halloween. It was an awesome costume that required a lot of work, mostly due to the fact that I had to paint myself bright yellow with acrylic body paint. Sabah and I were going to a party at our friend Ursula’s house, and before we started getting our costumes together, we had go get groceries and a hostess gift. I jumped in the shower, exfoliated the hell out of myself, and slathered myself with a generous amount of a favorite body moisturizer. Biotherm Baume Corps to be specific. I figured I would let it sink in while we ran to the store, and I could start my painting when I got home.

We must have been in the car about 30 seconds and Sabah was in tears. To this day, we don’t know what set her off, but the smell of that moisturizer brought her sad memories that completely overwhelmed her. I felt bad making her sit in the car the whole way there and back, but it got me thinking… Smells really can transport you to different times in your life. Good and bad memories can come flooding in like a tsunami as soon as your nose picks up the slightest scent in the air.

My question to you guys is, what scents take you back to a certain time in your life, good or bad?

-Sara

Leave a Reply

