Recent Empties: Take a peek in my trash!

It’s a wonderful time. That joyous moment when you realize your empties container is full, and you get the satisfaction of seeing all the products that you’ve used up. Such a good feeling to see some of these products go! Some were great, some were uneventful, and some were absolute garbage. Read on if you’re interested!

IMG_4504.JPG

Elnett Hairspray: This is the fragrance free version. Let this be a life lesson for everybody. Fragrance Free, with the green stripe. Always. The other Elnetts smell like a 97 year old rug, that’s been stored in Youth Dew fragrance for years. Yuck. But this version is amazing. I can spray as much as I like, and once it’s brushed out, the hold remains, but my hair is super touchable and never crunchy. Have already repurchased!

Dove Purely Pampering Pistachio and Magnolia Body Wash: I also love this stuff. The smell is divine, and these body washes are thick enough to shave with. I will continue to buy these over and over. There is an almond scent that is also amazing!

Clarins Men Smooth Shave: I know this is a product made for men. I honestly was curious if I thought a $22.00 shave foam would be any better than my $2.99 shave foams. The short answer- it definitely isn’t worth the money. The only high end shave foam that I love is the Biotherm (also for men) because I find that one very moisturizing. This was a total waste of money, so if you’re curious, save your money!

Shiseido Extra Gentle Cleansing Foam: I love this cleanser. I really love all of Shiseido’s cleansers. You need such a small amount, they foam up like crazy, and they are the perfect companion for my Clarisonic. They never leave my skin feeling dry, however they do burn my eyes a little bit if I accidentally get some too close. I have a ton of cleansers to get through first, so I won’t be repurchasing, however I would definitely recommend these!

IMG_4505.JPG

Strivectin Extreme Cream: I have mixed feelings about this product. It is meant for people with dry skin, and it does help with that for sure. My issue was, I needed so much of it to make my skin feel hydrated. So much so, that I went through this entire jar in 16 days. That’s right. 16 days. This was given to me by Strivectin, and although I do love it, I can’t justify repurchasing a $109.00 cream that will last me 16 days. Almira got one as well, which she gave to me, so I am on my second jar, but after this one I will move on to something else!

Lush Ro’s Argan Body Conditioner: Another mixed feeling about this guy. The smell is divine, it is SUPER hydrating, and while I was using it, I didn’t aggressively scratch my legs. This is huge for me. It was weird to use a body conditioner, I have never used anything like this before. My complaint was while rinsing, your hands felt like you just washed them in vegetable oil. It leaves a thick residue on the skin, but once I got out of the shower I really didn’t notice it. I think I will repurchase this, because anything that can make me stop scratching, is worth it’s weight in gold. If you have dry skin, give this a try!

Clarins Double Serum: I left this product for awhile, and I don’t know why. I love everything about this. The texture, the smell, the glow it gives my skin… I could go on and on. I already have a back up, and would recommend this to anyone, regardless of your skin type!

Elizabeth Arden 8 hour lip balm: This lip balm was okay. I wouldn’t repurchase based on the scent and the taste. It smells like old plastic! It did definitely hydrate my lips, but I just can’t stand the feeling or smell!

Kerestase Nectar Thermique: This heat protectant is killing me. It’s so expensive, but I haven’t found anything comparable that’s any cheaper. I have already purchased the full size, so I am set for awhile. But – if anyone has any suggestions for a cheaper cream heat protectant, please throw them my way!!

Bioderma Micellar Water: I won’t bore you all with this again. It’s better than anything else. If you haven’t tried it, buy it. If you have tried it, buy it again. If I could buy stocks for Bioderma, I would invest all my savings.

IMG_4506.JPG

Korres Quecertin and Oak Serum: I liked this stuff. I wouldn’t repurchase as I saw no real difference in my skin, but I know that Sabah absolutely loves this stuff. It was an okay serum for me, but it didn’t wow me. Save your money, pass on this one, and invest in double serum!!

Dr. Jart Ceramidin Cream: This was another okay product. I used it in conjunction with the Ceramidin liquid, and it helped my dry skin, but I still would wake up with flakes on my skin, and it smelled really funny. It’s a hard product to find here in Halifax, so it’s for the best that I wasn’t crazy about it!

NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer: I loved this concealer. If you follow us on Instagram, you know that Sabah and I argued about wether or not this was empty. I gave it a good 6 months, and I started getting the empty streaks up the tube. For someone who likes to have minimal product open at the same time, it was just time to move on. I would definitely recommend this to someone looking for a great brightening concealer. Blends out amazingly with a beauty blender!!

Clinique Lash Power Feathering Mascara: Saved the worst for last. I have a full review on this “mascara” and let me save you the time by telling you it is absolute rubbish. It pretty much just paints your lashes slightly black, and does not much else than that. If you must stick with Clinique, I prefer the High Impact mascara, but honestly, I’d skip them completely and go to Lancôme if you’re looking for an amazing mascara!

IMG_4510.JPG

Last but not least, Bioderma Wipes. The first few I used were a little dry, but once I got through those, the wipes were really nice. Didn’t sting my eyes at all, and removed most of my makeup. I prefer the water for sure, but when travelling, these work great. I finished off the pack scrubbing the yellow away from my Marge Simpson costume, and they held up. The cloths themselves are very sturdy, and never ripped on me once!

Well, that’s my garbage! So excited to say goodbye to these things and start using some new stuff!!

What have you emptied recently?

-Sara

One comment

Leave a Reply

