Review: MAC Acrylic Paint Review!

Okay, this is a total side note, but I have to tell you guys about it. I was watching Live with Kelly and Michael this morning, and they were talking about this “Dorothy” device. It’s a ruby colored small device that you place inside of your shoes when you go on a date. (Usually a blind date) if the date is a complete bomb, all you have to do is click your heels together three times and it will trigger your cell phone to ring, giving you the perfect “oh my god I have an emergency ! situation.)

Would you guys ever use something like this? I am a notorious relationship person, so I’ve never really “dated” but I think this is genius! And wonderful for a person like me, who is brutally honest. Sometimes too honest. It’s a way out without having to say anything that would hurt feelings! It just seems awesome to me!

Anyway, back to the review. I recently went to a Halloween party as Marge Simpson. Something to know about me…. If I do something, I do it. So naturally I had to paint my entire body yellow. I had tons of people tell me to wear yellow leggings and a long sleeved yellow shirt, but nope. I had to go all in. Any other way would have looked silly to me. So I went onto the MAC Pro website to get some acrylic paint, knowing that this would probably be my best bet. This was the result!

IMG_4325.JPG

This is the first time I’ve ever used any sort of product like this, let me give you the rundown.

First I exfoliated like crazy. Then slathered myself in lotion, and then went to the grocery store. I really wanted to make sure that the lotion soaked in well, before I moved in with primer. When it came time to prime, I took the Smashbox Photo Finish Light, and applied it everywhere. Arms, legs, chest, back (thanks for the back application Sabah!) and then again I waited a little while before going in with the paint. I fashioned myself a little tray of tinfoil to work from, and I poured a small amount of the paint out. Using a large flat synthetic brush that I bought from the dollar store, I started with long strokes up my arm. This product was super easy to use, but I do have some tips for people who are interested!

1.) Work as quickly as possible, to avoid streaks. Once you have a thin layer down, don’t try to go over it again until it’s fully dry, or you’ll risk making the product ball up and flake.

2.) Once you start with a pattern, stick to it. Don’t start by going up and down with your strokes, and then side to side. It looks much more fluent when you commit to one method.

3.) Finish one section before moving on to the other. When I did mine, I did my left arm, my chest, my face, my right arm, my legs, and then had Sabah do my back. ( it would have been impossible without her!)

4.) Don’t paint yourself with your costume on. I did my painting in a strapless bra protected by paper towel tucked around the edges, and let myself dry very well before I put my dress on.

5.) After getting the desired color (it took me mostly one layer, but two layers in some places) I powdered very well with my Ben Nye banana powder (which is too yellow for me normally, but this was a perfect reason to use it!!) and when I say powder well, I mean, I did about 5 layers of powder, concentrating really well behind the knees and the inners of the elbows, and the underarms. The bathroom was a cloud of yellow powder, but it was worth it! Any sticky feeling that may have remained on me disappeared, and I felt way more comfortable. After a crazy spraying of Clarins Fix Plus, I was literally set to go.

I added brows, a red lip, lashes …. And I have to say, the makeup was minimal!

Removal was, I’m not going to lie, a complete pain. Sabah was a good friend and was still scrubbing at my back around 3:30. Two aggressive showers later (I mean aggressive exfoliation, to the point of tears!) I was almost a normal color. The next day, a coworker had to go at my neck with Clinique Clarifying Lotion #4 (which I am convinced will take paint off of a car!) but the day after that all of the yellow was gone. It made a huge impact, and looks awesome in pictures. I have no regrets about doing it, but I’m not sure I would want to do a full body paint again!

With these paints, some of the colors aren’t safe around the lip or eye area, so make sure that whatever you need is safe to use where you plan to put it.

I was horrified to put this on my face, because of my super reactive skin. It was totally comfortable, and I had no eye irritation or breakouts from this product. I will say that through the night, my pores really started showing through the paint. I was a little nervous to use my Porefessional to fill them in, so I just dealt with it. Luckily no one noticed my pores (the giant blue wig really distracted from it!)

Overall, it was a great costume, and I would definitely use this for body paint again someday. I still have half a bottle left (seriously, a little goes a long way) and I am not sure I will have a use for it, so I might just Back to MAC it.

IMG_4392.JPG

This little bottle cost me $25.00 CAD which is expensive, but for the quality, I am satisfied with the price.

What are you guys going to be for Halloween? I am going to have a Halloween costume contest on Instagram, so show me your look on Instagram @girlmetblush and hashtag #girlmetblushhalloween and I will pick a winner the first week of November!

Have a great day guys!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

