Review: Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush Palette!

Hello everybody! I feel like I have been gone for awhile, I spent the Thanksgiving weekend with friends and family, and took a much needed break from the blogging world. Don’t get me wrong, I love to write, but sometimes you just need a break from the the technology and social media, and you need to have an old fashioned get together with loved ones, and unplug. But, getting back into the swing of things now, and I have an exciting review for you!

Sometimes, you just have an inkling about something. When everyone was going gaga over the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powders, I didn’t jump on board right away – and by chance, I ended up with a palette of three powders instead. Flash forward to the release of the Ambient Lighting Blushes. I said the exact same thing. There is no way they won’t release a palette in time for the holidays. My patience has paid off, and now I am the proud owner of a second Hourglass palette.

IMG_4140.JPG
The shades are Luminous Flush, Incandescent Electra (only available in this palette) and Mood Exposure.

I was very pleased with the pigmentation of these blushes. Some of the individual shades have been known to have a film on the top, and needed to be aggressively swathed before you got decent pigment. I have also noticed this with the powder palette, the product is much nicer after you get that top layer off. These blushes however, made me happy from the first swatch. I have used all three of these blushes, and I can’t pick a favorite. Luckily with palettes, you don’t have to choose just one!

The lasting power of these blushes is pretty standard, I never find myself touching up, but after a long day, they definitely fade from the skin. I love the way these products are swirled with the Ambient Lighting Powders, because they really do give the skin a beautiful glow.

The packaging is of course beautiful, and I appreciate that it’s a different color than the powder palette, because I’m not constantly looking to see which one is which. I also find that this packaging doesn’t show fingerprints as badly, which isn’t the biggest deal, but I definitely appreciate it.

Now these are something that I recommend. Any beauty junkie should try an Hourglass blush, but at $67.00 CAD, it’s definitely a big expense.

To be completely honest, I don’t know if this was worth the money for me. After being out almost $80.00 after taxes, I can’t help but think what else I could have gotten for that much money. I absolutely love this palette, but is it something I would use exclusively? No. Is it something that I think can’t be duped? No. There are other companies that have beautiful blushes for less than this, but given that this is a palette and I now own three Hourglass blushes, as opposed to spending a little less and only having one, I am happy with my purchase.

This is a great product, and if you are looking for a new blush, you should ice this a try. However if you have what seems like an unlimited supply of blush, I might recommend you put your money elsewhere this Holiday Season!

IMG_4141.JPG

How was everyone’s Thanksgiving? I’m curious to know, how many of you have Turkey, and how many of you have Ham? Or both? I wrapped my turkey in bacon this year, and I don’t think I’ll ever make it any other way from now on!

IMG_4159.PNG

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

-Sara

One comment

Leave a Reply

