Review: Lorac Pro Palette!

I have been mentally preparing for the backlash of this post since mid September. The second item from my previous haul that I have been playing with, is the Lorac Pro Palette. This palette has a cult following and boy oh boy are people passionate about it. When Girl met Blush was born, I vowed myself to honesty. Never would I promote a product that didn’t knock my socks off, and frequently products turn out to be just “okay”. I won’t love or hate them- and I just become kind of indifferent. After a few weeks, I bravely say, this palette is not worth the hype. There are lots of pros to this Lorac Pro Palette, so let’s start there. First of all, amazing sleek packaging that can be easily stored and doesn’t take up too much space. The colors are beautiful, and I appreciated the mix of mattes and shimmers. They swatch beautifully, and feel like icing sugar to the touch. What could go wrong right? This palette retails for $38.00 USD and seemed like the bargain of the year. Almira bought one, I bought one for myself and for Sabah, and we brought one back for a coworker of ours. I broke into this immediately, dying to know what the buzz was about. The first time I used it, I paired the shadows with the Lorac Eye Primer that comes with the palette. I opted for an all matte look, as day to day I do a fairly basic look. By the end of the day, I was a creased mess. Slightly brown lids, with dark brown creases all over the place. I know what you’re thinking – Sara, this is all your fault! Clearly you applied too much primer, or you went to hot yoga with your makeup on! Nope. Sorry folks. I had an eight hour seminar on Clarins that day – and oily eyelids are something that I have never experienced. This coming from a girl who wore Urban Decay’s Buck and Naked shadows everyday with no primer for over a year. Never one crease. Must have been a fluke right? I continued to use the shadows with no primer, and also tried several other brands of primers, but at the end of the day I was always dealing with creased eyelids. After a week and a half of doing nothing but matte looks, I thought I would try my luck with the shimmers. I did different combinations of colors daily, and I will say that these were a breeze to blend, and the ceasing really didn’t seem to be as bad with the shimmer shades. What I did notice, is the darker colors really blended together, and ended up looking like one muddy mess. I consider myself quite capable when it comes to applying eyeshadow, and I have tons of palettes that don’t do this to me. It’s almost like they blend so easily, it’s impossible to go in with a clean blending brush and soften up the edges, without mixing everything into one big shade. I know people go crazy for this palette, but I am just not a fan. I would never recommend this over the original NAKED palette- even though I love the large selection of matte shades that Lorac provides.

IMG_3682.JPG

IMG_3681.JPG

IMG_3692.JPG

This palette definitely makes it into the 2014 disappointment list. Move over Narsissist Palette, now you have a buddy to hang with whip I dig out my NAKED palette again.

What did you guys think of this palette? Am I totally alone in my disappointment?

One comment

  1. Thanks for your honest review! I haven’t been able to get myself to buy the Lorac Pro palette because every time I see it there are so many finger prints all over it, it annoys me.

Leave a Reply

