Makeup Haul from The States!

I love Canada. Don’t get me wrong, this country is amazing. But one thing I would change if I ran this place, is the cosmetic selection that we have. Our lives consist of lusting over things that we can’t buy at our Canadian retailers, and when you watch a lot of YouTube videos from American Guru’s, it’s hard not to feel that little sting of jealousy when they rave about something we simply can’t get our hands on here.

But of course, people travel. Almira and I recently went on a trip to Florida, and came back with so many things that we had our eyes on. We also met a wonderful waitress named Sara at an IHOP in Kissimmee. She made our whole trip. Turns out, Sara took her “h” off the end of her name in grade 4. (I took mine off in grade 3!) She is someone I will remember from the trip, and she was crazy nice. I told her that she was nicer than most servers in Canada, and that’s saying something! If you’re reading this Sara, thank you for being so awesome! Almira and I both loved you!

Now, into the goodies. Let’s just dive right in, and I’ll show you guys what I got.

IMG_3671

Psssst! Dry Shampoo: This is a product that a lot of YouTubers rave about, and I am an absolute Dry Shampoo junkie, so this was something I knew I had to have. I found it at Ulta (Which is like a makeup lover’s wet dream …) It was my first time inside an Ulta and I am hooked now! I am almost out of my Batiste Dry Shampoo, so this is next on the list.

Jane Cosmetics Waterproof Eyeliner in Black: Another thing YouTube made me buy. (Honestly most of this stuff I have YouTube to thank for!) This eyeliner is supposed to be amazing in the waterline, and it was $6.00. I haven’t opened it up yet, but I will let you guys know what I think when I do!

Neutrogena Healthy Skin Foundation: This foundation is incredible. I already opened it, as I was just too excited to fully finish the foundation I was using before. I wear the shade Nude, and it is a perfect match. My only gripe with this, is the packaging. I always want a pump. But the coverage, the finish, and the lasting power is just what I was looking for in a foundation. This will be something I will stock up on everytime I go down to the States now.

Nivea A Kiss of Olive Oil & Lemon: This lip balm has been such a pain in the ass for me. Sabah has been aggressively searching every store around here for this lip balm, with no luck. This was one of the things on her “You have to buy me this” list, and when I found it, I grabbed one for me too. Because if she loves it, I’ll never hear the end of it.

Aero Minerale Cosmetic Puff: I was looking for the makeup puff that Tati (Glamlifeguru) uses on YouTube, but I couldn’t find it. When I saw this little guy, he was on the clearance rack for $0.97, so I couldn’t say no. Hopefully this works just as well as the other one I originally wanted. On a side note, I was also looking for the Coty Airspun powder, and couldn’t find it anywhere. Any of my American readers know where I can get my hands on that?

IMG_3672

Flawless In a Flash kit by Laura Geller Beauty: This set was too good of a deal to pass up. It comes with her Spackle Primer, The Real Deal Concealer, a baked foundation, and a brush. For $20.00. I wanted to try the concealer anyway, so when I saw this kit, it just made sense. The sizes of all the products are perfect, and I cant wait to try these out. I have never tried anything from Laura Geller, so I’m pretty excited!

Kiehl’s Crème de Corps: So Almira bought this not too long ago for me and Sabah, and I absolutely love it. I ended up picking this one up for my boss, who also loves a good body lotion. I regret not buying more, because I am already having to squeeze my bottle a little too hard for comfort. It will be gone in probably a week. I highly recommend this lotion!

IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Redness: This product gave me some anxiety. When I went into Ulta, I did all of Sabah’s shopping first, rang through, and then continued doing my shopping. I had one of the grey bags they let you shop with, and the orange Ulta bag with Sabah’s stuff inside of that. When I was throwing my stuff into the bag while I was shopping, this somehow went into the bag of stuff I had already purchased for Sabah. So when we got into the car and Almira was showing me everything we bought, we realized that I pretty much stole the Bye Bye Redness. It was a simple mistake, and of course I went back into the store and paid for it. The girl was so shocked that I came back in to pay for it, so she gave me an extra little sample of an eye cream I have been dying to try. Aside from the drama surrounding the purchase, I am so happy I got this, as redness is definitely an issue for me.

Beauty Blender Micro Minis: I have a feeling that these will be gimmicky. I LOVE my original Beauty Blender, but I have never really felt the need for a smaller one. But of course, they’re adorable, and I had to buy them. The lady that was helping me out, said that they are really nice from cream contour, so that will probably be what I use them for.

IMG_3673

IT Cosmetics CC Cream: I got this in the shade Medium, and I can’t wait to try it. The coverage of this is supposed to be amazing, and I love the packaging. It reminds me of my beloved Marcelle BB cream. SO I am hoping this will make me just as happy, and provide a bit more coverage.

IT Cosmetics Brow Power: This was an impulse buy, picked up in the travel section near the cash. (Who else loves that section!?) Seriously, I can never get out of a store without buying something from those little buckets. I am still loving my Elizabeth Arden brow pencil, but I am hoping that this will be slightly lighter in color.

Dr. Jart HELP ME Skincare set: This was something that seemed like it would be perfect for my dry, reactive skin. It comes with the starter sizes of the Ceramidin Liquid, and the Ceramidin Cream. I am going to start using both of these exclusively very soon, and let you guys know what I think about it!

Lorac Pro Palette: I have been using this for about four days now … I will keep my thoughts to myself for now until I am able to do a full review on it. Regardless, I feel better being able to say that I now own this. This is a brand that Canada seriously needs to get involved with. This was a gift from friends, along with a Laura Mercier bath product you will see in a little while … And a Michael Kors watch! (I have the best friends don’t I!?)

IMG_3669

Aussie 3 Minute Miracle: We carry Aussie products in Canada, but this is something I can never seem to find. Again, something else that is raved about on YouTube. I will be opening this as soon as I finish my L’Oreal EverCreme mask.

Caress Body Wash in Passionate Spell: This was like $3.00 at CVS, took up the most space in my suitcase, and of course it leaked. I had to bring one back for me and for Sabah. But I think it was worth it. It smells so good, without being overpowering. It’s a perfect scent for Fall. All the YouTube girls always say it’s so hard to find. Almira and I had to go to three stores to track it down.

Freeman Facial Peel off Mask: This cucumber peel off mask is everywhere online. And I have used it already. And I LOVE it. I only put it where a biore strip would go, and it makes my skin so SMOOTH! And, I also love that it peels off all in one piece. I can’t stand facial peels that you need to pick off in a thousand pieces. I should probably stop using this nightly, but it will be a regular in my routine for sure.

IMG_3679

Finally, my Laura Mercier Amber Vanille Honey Bath: I have used this a few times, and I am obsessed. It’s one of those products that I want to use all the time, but now I will hardly ever use because I don’t want to run out of it. The honey stick microphone is perfect for Beyoncé-esque singing sessions in the tub, and the smell of this is absolutely perfect. Next time I go down, I want the pistachio version.

That’s all I could bring back with me this time, but of course the running list keeps growing for the next time I visit the States.

Seriously though – does anyone know where I can get that Coty Airspun powder? That’s my only real regret …

Hope you enjoyed the haul!

-Sara

7 comments

Leave a Reply

