Review: Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Boosting 5 Minute Facial!

If you have been reading my blog for awhile, you know I have been having a love affair with Elizabeth Arden. The company is really making changes to become a more solid brand, not something that you would relate only to your grandmothers. I have been so pleasantly surprised with some of their new products, and this one is no exception.

"Achieve a spa-facial glow at home with Ceramide Boosting 5-Minute Facial. Skin looks instantly refreshed and feels smoother and firmer. When used weekly, it helps support skin’s elasticity and minimize the appearance of wrinkles. Best when used 1-2 times per week to boost the effects of your Ceramide Capsules Daily Youth Restoring Serum. Dermatologist and clinically tested."

“Achieve a spa-facial glow at home with Ceramide Boosting 5-Minute Facial. Skin looks instantly refreshed and feels smoother and firmer. When used weekly, it helps support skin’s elasticity and minimize the appearance of wrinkles. Best when used 1-2 times per week to boost the effects of your Ceramide Capsules Daily Youth Restoring Serum. Dermatologist and clinically tested.”

This at home treatment is a two step process, which consists of a self foaming mask, and a replenishing serum for afterwards. The application process is super simple, and with some tips from an Elizabeth Arden trainer, all went smoothly for me.

Apply a cotton ball sized amount of the Self Foaming Mask to dry or damp skin. (If your skin is damp, the mask won’t feel as active, so if you have sensitive skin, damp skin works much better!) Apply all over the face and neck (avoiding the eye area) and allow the mask to sit for two minutes. After the two minutes is up, rinse with lukewarm water and pat the skin dry with a clean towel. Then you will want to apply the Step-2 serum. Massage the serum into the face and neck and allow it to sink into the skin. Then follow with your desired moisturizer. So that’s the by the book way to do it, but of course I have to tell you the real life experience I had with this product.

So I put it on my bathroom vanity and stared it down for probably 20 minutes. Alpha Hydroxyl Acids on my super reactive skin seemed terrifying. I tried to remain calm, as they can totally sense your fear. And after hearing stories from others (the Elizabeth Arden rep included!) that they couldn’t make it through the recommended time with Step 1, I was horrified that I would burn my skin off. Alas, I am a beauty blogger, which means I am the universal guinea pig. I applied the mask (on damp skin) and before I had it fully applied, I was ready to wash it off. We are talking a very concerning burning sensation. I ran to my air conditioner and sat in front of it. I was fine once I was there. Also, I left the mask on for 5 minutes, instead of the recommended 2 minutes. (Next time I’ll read the directions fully first!) The mask feels like pop rocks on your skin. If you listen carefully you can hear the bubbles popping, and it really is cool to watch. After I rinsed with lukewarm water, I applied the Step 2 serum, and my skin felt baby smooth. I eventually followed up with a moisturizer, but I honestly didn’t find it that necessary. The serum felt amazing on my skin.

The second time I used it, I applied the same way, and ended up leaving the mask on for closer to 5 minutes again, due to a phone call that I couldn’t get off of. The funny thing this time was, I had self tanned the night prior. My face looked hilarious. The mask ate through my tanner, and I ended up looking like a patchwork quilt. Thankfully I have my Clarins Radiance Glow Booster drops, so I mixed some of that in with the Step 2 serum, and it evened me out.

20140728-103646-38206992.jpg

Overall, I love the way my skin looks and feels after I use this product. I can’t necessarily speak to the long term benefits of it, but it is a treatment that I will definitely go back to when I want my skin to be glowing. Or times that I feel my skin needs a deep cleanse. (Which will be frequently, because my Clarisonic recently broke on me … I can’t even handle the stress of it!)

I think this is a great product, and I am glad I tried it with my super reactive skin, and lived to talk about it. My skin looks like it does when I get a professional facial done, and we all know how addicting that baby smooth skin feel can be.

Do you guys do any at home treatments? Let me know!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

