Review: St. Tropez Express Bronzing Mousse!

Before we get into the review, let’s all take a minute and wish Sabah a very happy 29th (ish) birthday. She will accept gifts in the form of cash, cheque, the Urban Decay Pulp Fiction collection, or just a few snapshots of your cat. (She’s the most crazy cat lady that doesn’t actually have a cat …) Happy Birthday Sabah, you’re my bestie, and I will be there at night to remind you to put your eye cream on. XO!

Unknown Very well known fact about Sara: I am a transparent road map of cool blue veins, and on a sunny day, if the light hits me the right way, I will completely disappear. That is how pale I am. I often get people asking me if I am unwell when I am rocking my natural skin color. Needless to say, I know my way around self tanning products. Lotions, Mousses, Creams, Gels, Milks, Sprays, you name it. I have tried it. For the longest time, I was married to Clarins Delicious Self Tanning Cream. It gave me an absolutely beautiful color, and I really didn’t have an issue with it, until I met St. Tropez. After completely falling in love with the cult favorite bronzing mousse, I finalized my divorce with Clarins and happily moved on. Then the last time I went to pick up a bottle of my true love, I saw a new candidate on the shelf. This Express Mousse promises the same color I know and love from the original, but allows you to choose what shade of tan you would like. Sound complicated? It’s not! Here it goes – try to keep up. The mousse applies as normal (with the applicator mitt of course) and blends like a dream. You do still get the same color guard as the original, so you can see where you have applied it, which destroys the possibility for streaks. The color of this mousse if slightly more yellow than the original, but I was happy with the color it gave me right away. Now we wait- and how long you wait is up to you. 1 hour for a light tan, 2 hours for a medium tan, and 3 hours for a deep tan. I of course went for it, and left mine on for about 2 hours and 45 minutes. (I tried so hard to stay up and finish Criminal Minds, but I couldn’t make it in time for the reveal of the unsub!) I jumped in the shower and rinsed it off, and was surprised at how light I looked. It did not give me the same color as the original formula does. However, the product continues to develop for 8 hours after you rinse off the color guard. When I woke up in the morning, I had a beautiful tan, but I did find it slightly more golden than the original. This product retails for $54.00 CAD for a 200ml bottle. The large original formula is 240ml for $51.50 CAD.

All in all, I was very happy with the results from this product, but having an express formula really doesn’t appeal to me enough to repurchase this. I will be sticking to the original St Tropez Bronzing Mousse, but I would recommend this to someone who doesn’t like to sleep in their self tanner, or someone who needs color in a quick amount of time.

This company really seems to do no wrong for me, it works so well with my skin, and I can’t see myself ever changing!

What are your favorite self tanning products?

20140717-175012-64212046.jpg

-Sara

Leave a Reply

