Summertime Empties: Round one!

The recycling will have to be taken out for sure today. I have finished a lot of products, and I’ve come to realize that a huge part of my life is dedicated to constantly doing inventory checks, and monitoring the progress of my current products. I get a high from finishing a product, and for the first time today, I had a small space in one of my storage boxes to put more product in. Of course it was filled by something immediately, but for a second … it was there. Here we go! Would I repurchase, and any important things you need to know about these products!

20140702-143643-52603477.jpg

St Tropez Bronzing Mousse: This is my go to self tanner. I was so sad when I finished this, because I didn’t have a back up. I have been using the Neostrata Insta-Tan (Stay tuned for my thoughts on that!) and I have a Clinique one I need to use before I let myself repurchase this. But I definitely will, and I think I will try the new express formula! 🙂

Soap and Glory Clean on Me: I wasn’t expecting to love this, as I am not really a huge fan of the Soap and Glory scent. (Hang me up and stone me to death, I know that is not a popular opinion!) But I actually quite liked it. It was creamy enough to double as a shaving aid, and that’s important to me with my super dry skin. I would repurchase this again, if I could find it in a set. (The normal bottles are so large, and I get tired of body wash quickly!)

Redken All Soft Shampoo: This was the perfect definition of a blah product. It did its job, it cleansed my hair, but I was left with no satisfaction, because it felt the same as if I was using a L’Oreal one from the drugstore! Fail in my opinion, and I wouldn’t repurchase!

Elizabeth Arden Visible Difference Serum: Putting this in short terms … I freaking LOVE this product. As we all know, I am a past Elizabeth Arden snob, but the brand is really growing on me. My skin looked amazing while I was using this, and I was truly upset when I pumped it and it was gone. It’s in an airtight bottle, and is super hydrating. I was using four pumps morning and night, so I went through this super fast! I have a lot of other serums to try, but if my skin acts up, I would purchase this again!

L’Oreal Sublime Soft Micellar Water: This product was a huge deal for me when it launched. We all know how I feel about Bioderma. And I won’t lie, this was an excellent dupe. But, I still went back to Bioderma, as I used both on different sides of my face for about a month, and I always had to use double the cotton and double the product to get off all of my makeup. It says fragrance free, but I can definitely smell a scent of some kind. It didn’t irritate my skin, but it doesn’t live up to the Holy Grail Bioderma, and I won’t purchase this again.

Clarins Tonic Body Polisher: Almira was the one who got me onto this, and I will say the smell of this is amazing. When you are in the mood for a Spa experience at home, and if you like the smell of Essential Oils, this might be worth looking into. My issue with it, is as a scrub, it’s horrible. It’s not very gritty, and the formula turns to an oil consistency as soon as it hits the skin. I will not repurchase, because I like stronger feeling scrubs, but I would purchase the body wash that Clarins has in the same smell, because it really is amazing!

Nivea Milk and Honey Lip Balm: This is a miracle. I went through a full lip balm before losing it. This was something that got thrown around my purses, my travel bags and on my bedside table. Nothing special enough to repurchase, but I do want to try the Lemon and Olive Oil formula. (Which I can’t find anywhere in Canada!!)

Clarins High Definition Body Lift: I’ve done a post on this product, and I love it. I see visible results when I am using this religiously, and I highly recommend it. No body shaping cream is going to make your body look like Gisele’s or Rihanna’s, but this stuff definitely tightens everything up, and makes my cellulite appear less visible. I have a back up of this already, but I am currently using a Vichy product. More details to come on that soon!

Revlon Grow-luscious Plumping Mascara: This mascara was absolute crap. The brush was awful, and the formula seemed to only tint your lashes black without adding any volume or length, and all of a sudden you wound up with four lashes, since they all clumped together. Avoid this at all costs!

Almay Intense I-Color Volumizing Mascara: More garbage, this was a clumpy wet mess on my lashes, and I only used it for about a week and a half before I broke up with it. Not a fan!

Shiseido Bio-Performance Super Corrective Eye Cream: This eye cream felt so smooth on my skin, but it wasn’t comparable to my beloved Wrinkle Resist24 eye cream from Shiseido. It was a very nice creamy texture, but I usually always woke up with dry flakes around my eyes in the morning. This just didn’t hydrate me enough, and I really didn’t see any difference in my eye area. I would not repurchase this again, I will be going back to my Wrinkle Resist24 (As soon as I get through some eye creams that have been waiting on the sidelines!)

Avene Xeracalm A.D: So coming off of my high from the amazing Cliniderm Body Balm, I opened this one and was really disappointed. The formula felt okay, but you would use the smallest amount, and you would still get white streaks all over your body that would take forever to rub in. It kept my legs moisturized, but the fact that it took almost 10 minutes to fully rub the product in, makes this a pass for me.

What have you guys emptied lately? Hopefully I am not the only one who gets so excited to have a bunch of recycling leave the house!!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

