Review: Maybelline The Nudes Palette!

Some things in life are big. Births, Promotions, Marriages … Another big thing in life is a drugstore palette launch. Maybelline New York has answered one of my issues with the drugstore. There is a severe lack of palette options available. Sure you have your quads, and your trios, but sometimes a gal just needs more options. I more often than not, decide what colors I want to wear when I get to my eye makeup in the morning. I rarely plan my makeup, so I like to have something on hand that can answer to a lot of different eye looks.

This palette retails between $12.00 and $15.00CAD depending on where you pick it up, and it is now available for purchase almost everywhere Maybelline is sold.

20140702-083456-30896167.jpg

Now, onto the details. I will say right off the bat, that this palette is in no way a dupe for the Urban Decay Naked Palette. The colors are quite different, and even though there are some similar shades, the texture of these shadows is much different. And there is really no method to the madness. You are getting a mix of matte, shimmer and metallic and the texture of all of the shadows varies. My favorite shade is definitely the bronze color (Fourth color from the right-top row) This swatches very similar to an Urban Decay shadow. Another bonus to this palette, is I am able to fill my eyebrows in with the matte brown shade (Fifth color from the right-top row) That immediately steps this up to a travel friendly palette for me, I usually travel with my NAKED palette, but I have completely used up the naked shade, so I am left with no brow color now :(.

SWATCHES: (All of these are swatched with no primer)
20140702-083454-30894882.jpg

The first shadow that I went for when I opened the palette was the matte black. I was disappointed, but when I actually used it, I was pleasantly surprised. It isn’t as pigmented as some of my other matte blacks, but I ended up really liking the look it gave me. If I could change something about the palette, I would have liked to have a mirror, especially where they had the chance to have a large mirror in the palette which would be awesome for travel. And I also wish they had put in a matte highlight shade. The cream shade (Third from the right-top row) is beautiful, but I wish it was a little lighter, as I find myself reaching for a separate shadow to use as a highlight. I have worn these shadows a bunch of times now, and I have had no problem with creasing at all. I have noticed the pigment fading a little bit throughout the day, but I have yet to use them with a primer, as I don’t really find it necessary. (If you have oily lids, definitely do not skip the primer!)

I think this is an okay palette, for seasoned makeup lovers, but also practical for people who are just starting to use makeup. I just think you can do better in the drugstore. Wet and Wild still reigns supreme in my opinion. It comes with a helpful guide on the back, where Maybelline has broken the palette up into Duos, Trios and Quads. This is a great tool to have if you find yourself overwhelmed with all of the colors.

20140702-094048-34848585.jpg

Overall, I am happy with my purchase, even though it’s not something I will reach for daily. The soft matte brown that I can throw in my brow really bumped this up for me though!

Have you guys tried this palette yet? If not, will you be picking it up?

-Sara

5 comments

  1. Hey Sara,

    Totally bought this based on your review! Can’t wait to try it out! Feel
    Free to use it for blog tutorials ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sara

Leave a Reply

