Lise Watier Summer Collection! Almira’s Review!

Hi my fellow beauty junkies!

A couple of weeks ago, I made a post about the new Lise Watier Summer Collection! Now the collection is finally in store, and I got to try out a couple of products that I was very excited to try! There were 7 products from the line, an eyeshadow palette, a bronzer, lip color balms, cream blushes, gel eyeliner, soufflé shadows, and nail lacquers.

Ok so the Palette Eden Tropical, one thing you need to know about me, when it comes to eyeshadows, I’m as boring as … winter? Haha yes, I stick to my neutrals; the most I would do is like a dark navy blue on my crease. Finish and texture wise I’m definitely more flexible, but colors? I’ll admit I’m a bit scared.

If you see the swatches in the bottom of the page, you can see that 4 out of the 6 colors are fairly bright, unfortunately for me, that’s a big chunk of the palette that I wouldn’t use. Upon swatching the colors, it is a little bit more chalky for my liking. It doesn’t live up to the fine, silky, powder that I’m looking for in eyeshadows. It’s safe to say I would take a pass on this one. However, I will give them kudos for providing some color selection for color fans.

The soufflé eyeshadows are something that they carry all the time, however there are some new colors for this collection. They are beautiful, and the texture of these is mesmerizing. They apply best using your fingers, and they last you all day long. No complaints with these.

Next is the Eden Tropical Bronzing Powder. It’s in such a massive compact and Lise Watier bronzers have been a crowd and personal favorite of mine. Unfortunately, I would pick the regular Havana and Havana Matte bronzers before this one in the collection. The middle part is a pastel-ly peach color that gives any skin tone a universal flush, it swatched quite lighter than I expected, so for someone who’s looking for that peach color, I wasn’t satisfied.. On the outside part of the bronzer is a universal bronze color that has a nice matte finish, but when swatched, it does look a little bit orange-y and too coppery for my preference.

The Hydra Kiss Color Balms come in two shades, a rosy one and a coral one. I put it on and it felt wonderful! It didn’t set into the dry patches on my lips and it didn’t tug at all. Granted that the lasting power is the same as any other lip balm,the glossy feeling leaves you fairly fast, but it did leave a stain on my lips that lasted for several hours.

So the Satin Crème Blushes… I mentioned in my last post how excited I was for this product. I am very happy to say that I was not disappointed! I absolutely love the high pigment that I get from these blushes. I literally just tap my finger in the pot once, and then put it on my cheeks. I got a beautiful coral color that was blendable and glide-able (is that a word?) on my cheeks. I was right in saying that you can control the blush intensity that you prefer. This little jar will last you a very long time. Definitely a buy! I’m a big fan of the Coral Paradise shade that gives me an effortless peachy finish, but the Rose Eden one is still very wearable for all skin tones. For $24, this is a great buy.

When it comes to eyeliners, I give Lise Watier the highest regard, especially with their Feline Noir liquid liner. That is my absolute favorite liner to put on and that’s what got me so excited about their 24hr gel eyeliner from the collection. Upon putting it on, I noticed how easy it was to glide it on my lids. I would definitely recommend a stiffer angled liner brush than the one they provide in the collection. I find the bristles too long on the one they launched, which makes it a little harder to control. Because the formula is more water based in my opinion, it is not tacky and does not tug. It had dried within 30 seconds. The color is a very rich, very opaque black, which I am a big fan of. So, here is where the problem lies, I have very oily lids, I applied it at 9am and by 1pm it had transferred to my upper lid. That is a big no-no for me. I conclude that it will work better for someone who doesn’t have oily lids and for someone who uses an eyelid primer consistently. I really wish that it didn’t transfer, otherwise, I would have purchased it in a heartbeat. But to everyone who’s reading, you have to buy and try their Feline Noir liquid liner. That one is very hard to beat.

Lastly, their Nail Lacquers have wicked colors, I like doing bright colors on my tips for the summer, so they are spot on with the bright coral and bright pink. I love the brush and the light that’s incorporated in the polish, for $13, I don’t think that’s fully unreasonable for nail polish fanatics.

Top Left: Cream Blush Swatches. One highly swatched, and one blended out. Top Right: Souffle Shadows Middle Left: Lip Balms Middle Right: Nail Laquers Bottom Pictures: Palette swatches. (Took two pictures to show finishes) Swatches on the left of my arm have no primer, swatches on the right side of my arm have primer underneath.

Top Left: Cream Blush Swatches. One highly swatched, and one blended out. Top Right: Souffle Shadows Middle Left: Lip Balms Middle Right: Nail Laquers Bottom Pictures: Palette swatches. (Took two pictures to show finishes) Swatches on the left of my arm have no primer, swatches on the right side of my arm have primer underneath.

This is a pretty extensive description of the collection but all in all I give it a 6 out of 10. The problem is the big items in this collection are the ones that I wouldn’t purchase. Ok, maybe the crème blushes bump it up to 8 out of 10. Anyways in my opinion, if there are 2 to 3 things that I absolutely love from the collection I still consider it a success. What do you guys think? Any summer collections you’re looking forward to?

P.S, Wait for more summer collections posts from me, Sara and Sabah.

Till next time!

-Meez

20140427-152523.jpg

Leave a Reply

