Garbage Day! Recent Empties!

I am so excited to be writing this post, as that means that the massive basket of garbage (otherwise known as empties) has been photographed and removed from my bedroom. It’s a therapeutic feeling, seeing all of the things that you have completely used up. Here we go, the low down, the good, the bad, and the would I repurchase.

20140414-202526.jpg

Vichy Nutri-Extra Body Cream: This was a bonus that came in a kit I had awhile back, and it was a nice cream in the winter. I remember using it when the weather was a little warmer, and it balled up and made a mess of my legs. They make a fluid version, but this formula is very thick and great for super dry legs. I wouldn’t repurchase, as it was by no means a life changer, but it was okay.

Moringa Body Shop Body Wash: This was a wonderful body wash. It smelled great, it did it’s job, and the bottle wasn’t so obnoxiously big, that I finished it before I was tired of the smell. I will repurchase more body washes from the Body Shop for sure, but will keep trying different scents.

Avene Thermal Water: This stuff is amazing. Any skin irritation, to set my makeup, on sunburns … I go through this like water (No pun intended) and I have already repurchased.

Elizabeth Arden Ceramide Mascara: This was actually a pretty good mascara. I wouldn’t repurchase, but I had no complaints.

Benefit It’s Potent Eye Cream: This has been an empty for awhile, I just can’t get myself to throw the bottle away. It is so pretty. The eye cream itself was nice, kept me hydrated, but I wouldn’t repurchase.

Shiseido Ibuki Softening Concentrate: This was a small sample size I got in a kit, and I finished it, although it really seemed to do nothing for my skin. It was also very heavily fragranced that I didn’t like.

Dove Dry Shampoo: This dry shampoo is intense. You will get a strong white cast, and it will dry your hair out if you don’t need it. It’s definitely a dry shampoo for oil and not one to use for added volume. This is my recommendation for people who have very oily hair. The best way to use it, is to spray into the hair, and let it sit for awhile. Then brush it out and you’re good to go.

Lancôme Definicils: I love this mascara, but it is nothing compared to Hypnose for my lashes. It gives more of a defined lengthened look, and my lashes like a little more volume. I will repurchase this for my mother though, I think she would love it.

Twisted Peppermint Hand Lotion: Bath and Body works does the peppermint collection every holiday, and I am sad/relieved that this is gone. Its a good hand cream, I buy it more for the scent than the formula. I will repurchase next holiday season.

Skinceuticals Clarifying Clay Masque: I loved this masque. It was wonderful for clearing out pores, and I also used it as a spot treatment. It was perfect for those blemishes you know are coming but cant really see yet. I can’t remember how much it was, but I know it was expensive. Now that GlamGlow is in my life I probably wouldn’t repurchase, but this was a great product.

Vichy Purete Thermal Eye Makeup Remover: I hated this remover. Whether it’s because of my fierce loyalty to Bioderma, or maybe because this product smelled a little funny, it just didn’t work for me. I ended up using this to take swatches off of the back of my hand. Negative on the repurchase.

John Freida Full Repair Heat Protectant: I bought this on sale awhile back, and I think it did it’s job. I ended up dumping a small amount out of the bottle because I was so bored of it, and I just bought a Kerestase heat protectant that I am in love with. I would not repurchase, but like I said, I think the product did what it said it would do.

Shiseido Ibuki Refining Moisturizer: Again with the Ibuki, it was too heavily fragranced, and this moisturizer was not rich enough for my crazy dry skin. I am glad it’s gone, and I wouldn’t repurchase.

Clarins Instant Smooth Concentrate: This is a product that is filled with Hyaluronic Acid, which attracts water to itself and plumps up lines to make them look blurred. I liked this, it is a product that gives instant results, and if I ever have something super special to get ready for, I would repurchase it.

Clinique Moisture Surge Intense: I have had a rough relationship with this cream. This is actually my fourth jar of it. I used the first three with no problem on my face, and about 1/4th of the way into it, it started to burn my skin. I stopped using it and used the rest of the jar as a foot cream. I would have repurchased if it didn’t turn on me, but I think we have officially broken up.

Rimmel ScandalEyes Mascara: This mascara was actually not bad. It didn’t overly flake on me (maybe a little bit) and it gave my lashes a satisfactory amount of volume. I had to stop using it, because my right eye started giving me trouble, and I am not allowed to wear any makeup. I have been wearing my glasses with no eye makeup, I don’t know who I am anymore. I wouldn’t repurchase this, but I didn’t hate it.

Phew- That’s a lot of trash to go through. Like I said, now my empties basket is empty and ready to be filled with the new stuff I am using now. I feel like I conquered something today.

Have you guys finished anything up recently?

-Sara

Leave a Reply

