Fancy vs Frugal Friday: Facial Cotton!

This FvsFF has a love/hate product in it for me. I was introduced to this stuff about 6 years ago when it still retailed for $6.00 CAD. It has since been growing in popularity, and now retails for $11.00 CAD, and I wouldn’t be surprised if the raised the price again. I cannot live without this stuff. I had been using cotton that fell apart on my lashes, and ended up irritating my eyes more than actually helping to take my makeup off. When I got my hands on my first pack of Shiseido cotton, my world changed. It is so soft, it never falls apart or rips on my skin, and it gets the job done every time. It also can take off all of my nail polish on all 10 toes, using just one pad. I remember the day at work when the memo came down that Quo was going to release their “Luxury” cotton pads. They were square, they were 100% cotton, and they retail for $7.50, but unlike Shiseido, these go on sale here and there for as low as $3.99 CAD. The very first say they were shipped, I bought a pack and immediately used a Quo pad on one side, and a Shiseido pad on the other side of my face. I was kind of smug, and disappointed at the same time when I realized very quickly that Quo was just not going to live up to the Shiseido. It tore a little bit, and it just didn’t hold up to my mascara. After that, I did a test, I placed a clean dry Kleenex down on my table, and put three pumps of Bioderma on both cottons. After about 30 seconds, I lifted the pads up, only to see that the Kleenex was completely dry where the Shiseido cotton was. And underneath of the Quo, was a massive puddle. The product went right through it, and I know with my pump style Bioderma, the product would end up all over my hands instead of in my cotton.

shiseido

I tell people everyday that if you buy Shiseido cotton once, you need to be mentally prepared to spend $11.00 or more on cotton for the rest of your life. Consider yourself warned. The girls at work and I have agreed that we would probably buy it until it hit $15.00 CAD. That’s where we have drawn the line.

Fancy wins this week! In my opinion, nothing beats Shiseido cotton. Absolutely nothing.

-Sara

Leave a Reply

