Fancy vs Frugal Friday: Liquid Eyeliners

I look for similar traits in my liquid eyeliners, as I do in my boyfriend. I want them to be easy to deal with, I want them to be low maintenance, and I want them to stick around (until I’m done with them … Okay, that last part is just for the liners, when I want them off, I don’t want to rip my eyelids off to remove it!) This week, it’s Revlon Colorstay Liquid eye pen, which retails for $10.99, against Stila’s stay all day liquid eyeliner, that retails for $26.00. I have worn the Stila previously and knew I loved it, but I am always eager to find a dupe. After several tests, I have come to my decision. In this case, it’s worth it to dish out the money. Stila destroyed Revlon! But let’s rewind. At first glance, they look similar. The Stila has a thinner tip, which I appreciate, as it gives you more options on how thick you apply it. Pigment wise, I was impressed with both. They are both very black, apply without tugging, and have a great “flow”. The liners that dry up and skip on your eyelid while you apply are the worst. Neither of these gave me that problem. Where the big difference between the two came in, was wear time. I touch my eyes a lot. Probably 10 times an hour, I wear contacts and I am constantly touching my eyes. This caused the Revlon to completely smudge, leaving a grey-ish smudge at my lashline that did not look very flattering. Stila however, held up perfectly. 12 hours later it was just as black as it was when I applied it, and it was in the exact spot. And removal was super easy with my Bioderma! Check out the photos to see the smudge effect that the Revlon takes.

linerblog

I definitely think it’s worth it to spend the extra money in this case, to get the most benefit out of your product.

* Quick Tip with these liquid liners … Store them facing downward in a cup, or lay them flat somewhere. This will avoid all of the “ink” from collecting at the bottom of the pen!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

