Fancy vs. Frugal Friday: Clear Brow Mascara

Image

So the last time I posted a Fancy vs. Frugal, a lot of people liked it, and requested that it be a weekly thing. Enter, Fancy vs. Frugal Fridays. This week’s post is going to address a product that some believe is completely useless, and others will say they will not live without it. Clear Brow Gel. Now, I use this product on days that my eyebrows are a little unruly, or if I have missed a trimming session. This is a must have for people who have thick brows that curl, and just seem to be out of control all of the time. So, the contenders this week are Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Gel (Retails for $29.00CAD for a 0.28oz tube) and Essence Lash and Brow gel mascara (Retails for $3.99CAD for a .3oz tube)

I have been using these for awhile, one on each brow, and I have to say … Frugal kills it in this category. The Anastasia gel is super wet, almost to the point that you feel like you have to fan your eyebrows before you leave the house. The Essence lays down much less product at a time, giving you more control, and allowing you to use as much product as you need to, depending on the unruliness of your brow. It also feels much more natural on the skin. The Anastasia will give you a “sealant” feel, and you will feel it for the first hour or so of the day, every time you move your brows. Also, the Anastasia seems to have a strong smell … very similar to that of a household cleaner. For what this product is for, I think it is absolutely mind blowing that anyone would spend $29.00 on this Anastasia product. For a line so well known for their brow products, this one is a complete fail in my books.

Frugal wins! Save yourself some money and get the Essence!

 

4 comments

  1. Where can I buy the Essence products and why haven’t I tried this line yet? Lol love all the latest and greatest (and not so great) products you talk about! Well done 🙂

      1. Thank you, Sarah! I will be by tomorrow. I can’t wait to try this line. And I agree with your comment about the texture of the Anastasia clear gel. I was relieved when mine was empty, but I thought it was just me being cranky. Haha

Leave a Reply

